REVIEWS: BEHIND CLOSED DOORS 1

 

Behind Closed Doors: Book 1 Cover

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
Great revamp to Book 1! Kudos A.L. Smith!
By Licia Samuel on September 22, 2015

Great read! I love how A.L. Smith revamped this story to incorporate one of the characters from book 2. I also love the updated ending of the book. This story line is real life as things like this gets swept under the rug and the victims suffer in silence because molestation by a family member goes ignored or the victim is blamed or called fast or loose. The molestation stopped at generation 4 due to one of the victims in this generation putting an end to it before her own child was affected. A.L. Smith kudos to you on the revamp! I enjoyed this book as good as the first version of this book….Keep on writing as you have a wonderful gift that keeps me turning the pages. Patiently waiting on Book 3 to see how this series continues…If I could give a 10 or more stars I would definitely do so. Great job by a wonderful author! Keep on writing as this is definitely your calling!
5.0 out of 5 stars

Very well-written and heartfelt story.
By Casey Living on October 11, 2015

It’s not often that such a serious subject as sexual abuse can be tackled in a fictional tale and be done with dignity and grace, while also entertaining the reader with a good story. This is exactly what author A.L. Smith accomplishes with her novel, “Behind Closed Doors”. A story of three sisters, Sierra, Alex and Latrice, who suffered greatly while growing up at the hands of a family member. They go their separate ways, only to reunite and find a great resolution for all involved. A very engaging story that pulled at my heartstrings and definitely kept me turning pages. Looking forward to reading part two of this series. Well done.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Very well written.
By Rosemary M. Goddard on October 8, 2015

This is a powerfully emotional book that is extremely well written. The lives of Sierra, Alex, and Latrice are devastated early on by the actions of a vile member of their family. Each character is written so well I had a hard time distinguishing whether these women were real or if this book is fiction. That to me is the earmark of an incredible writer. All three girls deal with what Keith did to them in very different ways. In real life things happen and you can either rise above it, ignore it, or let it consume your every decision. The writer acknowledges this fact within the pages of this book in a remarkable way.

5.0 out of 5 stars
It’s no fun when your life is turned inside out.
By Michelle Rawls on September 21, 2015

This was my first read by this author and I was awe struck at how talented she is and how raw and heart filled this story was. This story had me revisiting my own story and rooting for the ladies as they sought some kind of relief. This is truly a story that should be read by anyone who has suffered trauma or incest. Even if you haven’t it is still a good story. Kudos, to a great author who is well on her way.

Happy reading,

The Official Dcbookreviewer

5.0 out of 5 stars
Patiently awaiting the sequel.
By j on September 21, 2015

This book is really good. It was written very well and was not your every day run of the mill urban book. What I love is that this book had a bit of “meat on the bones” it gave me something to ponder about after I was finished. As far as characters go my heart went out to Alex, despite the tragedies placed before her she she did the damn thing. Loved how she took care of Granny in the end. Excited about the sequel. You did that A.L Smith!!

5.0 out of 5 stars
Flawless storyline.
By Rita Garon on October 7, 2015

The author AL Smith has done a fantastic job in writing a story so intense and emotional that I was spellbound. The storyline is flawless and deals with sexual abuse and dark secrets in the family. The author has chosen a topic that not many people want to talk about. An emotional book which sheds light on the plight of the victims of abuse. A very well written book which is a page turner, it impressed me so much that I read it twice.

5.0 out of 5 stars
Great story line.
By dd on October 30, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
Omg this was not what I expected. Great book. The first thing that came to mind when I finished was how well put together the story line was. I can tell A.L. Smith put allot of hard work in writing this storyline. I really wanted kenny and Alexis to be together. But o well. This book just shows you what’s done in the dark will come too light

5.0 out of 5 stars
Captivating book.
By Cathy Sorzano on September 26, 2015

I gave this book 5 stars, this book was real life experiences. A book that any generation could read, i simply could not put this book down. I would definitely recommend everyone reading this book, young and old, male and female, because this book speaks volumes. Keep up the grand writing Author Angela Smith,continued blessings .

 

5.0 out of 5 Stars
Sisterhood.
By Angela Pinder November 2, 2015

Cudos to A.L Smith for a story so well thought out and put together. Behind Closed Doors need to be a requirement in all schools for females from junior throughout high school. Throughout generations there are family secrets and stories that need to be told. Although these young ladies were cousins and shared the same secret,I was there with them going through with them. I felt like a mom on the outside looking in who couldn’t be there to help them get through this. I recommend this book to all women who don’t feel none would listen to their story(I’m in tears)…

5.0 out of 5 Stars
Awesome!! Grabs your attention from very beginning!
By Nikki on September 14, 2015

This book by far is the best book I’ve read this year. I couldn’t put this book down until it was finished and I can’t wait to read book two.

5.0 out of 5 Stars
Powerful.
By Termeka H. on November 3, 2015

I’ve never had a book to bring me to tears! The dialogue is so powerful that I could feel all the emotions Sierra, Alex, and Latrice were experiencing!! Behind Closed Doors relates to everyday life in so many ways and it should inspire parents to keep the lines of communication open with their children because they only get one chance to grow up. Amazing work A.L. Smith!